When I first got to university, I was overwhelmed by how many of my professors were strong, smart, confident, accomplished women. They became my role models, my mentors, my inspiration.
Now that I’ve spent five-odd years in university, I think the most valuable thing that I’ve learned is that I now have the tools and perceptive to seek out strong, smart, accomplished women wherever I go. I’m old enough now to mentor the ones younger than me who wish to become academics and activists, and motivated enough now to not just passively wait for the company of inspiring women that I can learn from. I don’t expect them to fall into my lap, I seek them out now.
That’s one of my favourite feminist lessons of the past five years, is the importance of creating your own space of inspiration. You won’t become your aspirations if you passively expect them to seek you out to mentor and teach.

