Last semester and this semester, I had two different professors in my department who had two things in common: They were both, in general, rather disorganized and absent-minded, and they were both really interested in having students do projects that involved a lot of skills not generally learned in our department, namely: videography, web-editing, sound production. Professor One wanted us to make a youtube video documenting us performing a stunt in public. Professor Two wants us to start up our own class blog to talk about our feelings as we learn the material.

I have a strong feeling that there’s a connection between their sloppiness as instructors and their over reliance on students using new media to do class projects, but I can’t articulate exactly how, yet… Give me time and I’ll figure it out.

